Week’s worth of Gratitude & Happiness

Sheesh, I can't believe it's been an entire week since I last posted. It
sure is easy to lose track of something I intend to do regularly.

Things I've been grateful for this week:

– everyone who wished me farewell, at PRTC where they cooked an incredible
feast, with YOP where I got to eat my favorite fish pepper soup, and at my
house where we had a huge crowd and a good time.
– a relatively uneventful busride from Bamenda to Yaounde. Oh, except that
the bus fell into a roadside gutter (3 ft deep) five minutes after leaving
the bus park. But many men make light work and they love a project, so we
were out of the hole and on our way within 45 minutes or so.
– a fast Internet connect at the VSO office which helped me get on board
with an online class I am doing as well as send a bunch of documents as I
was finishing up some work.
– a quiet, well equipped office which helped a lot to make me productive in
my last days in Cameroon.
– Spring Rolls at L'Orient Rouge — delicious!
– Gmail that has saved everything and is so fast to search.
– everyone who bought my stuff.
– Yusuf for dealing with the authorities to get my Exit visa and for
magically changing my Cameroonian francs into US dollars. Presto!

Some times I've been happy:

– when the party got going at my house and everyone seemed to be having a
good time.
– when I was happily ensconced on the bus with my bags safely stowed.
– reading Ellen Burstyn's book, Lessons in Becoming Myself.
– watching "Friends" in French, even if I only understood every third word
or so.
– as I was compiling the resutls of CMWA's IT audit
– creating an accounting system for NWADO and learning about OHADA
accounting.
– editing and posting the photos from my last days in Bamenda.

About Seth Longacre

primal health coach, vision fast guide, itinerant discalced Episcopal Deacon, barefoot runner, photographer, spiritual director, yoga teacher, minimalist, pilgrim
This entry was posted in Africa. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week’s worth of Gratitude & Happiness

  1. on.pilgrimage says:

    I’m totally lost in acronym soup, but enjoy your blogging!peace,mpb

  2. Tracy Longacre says:

    Ha! Thanks for raising my awareness. They are sooo into acronyms in Cameroon — you have to name your organisation something that is pronounceable as an acronym (and as a word, not as letters, usually)!

Leave a Reply

