Thoughts about the future

I am realising that one thing I have found frustrating professionally is
that I always feel like I can only find work that satisfies part of me. My
ideal position would somehow combine both intellectual creativity (strategic
thinking, analysing, designing, planning) and on-the-ground application,
people contact, service, etc. For some reason, I have not been able to get
into a place that satisfies both those aspects. One of my greatest jobs
recently was working retail at MetroSport, a local running store in Palo
Alto. I loved being able to serve people directly and to share my passion
with others who either were also passionate or willing to be inspired. But
it wasn't mentally engaging enough to work as a long-term job and my heart
really wanted to be in Africa. As I think about the future and try to
imagine what sorts of work I might do after VSO, I am hard-pressed to see
clearly a position that could engage my passion on different levels:
intellectually, physically, socially/emotionally. I have so often been
either mentally engaged or relationally engaged, but rarely both, and for
some reason, the older I get the less satisfying intellectual engagement is
by itself. I want to apply stuff I think up. In the end I only really care
about what happens in the real world, with real people, in real situations.
And I'm becoming much more interested in the process than the final result
(although I don't think I'll ever not be interested in the final result).

I feel like I could really use a career counsellor that knew how to place
people in international development jobs, but I doubt such a thing exists or
that I could afford it. Maybe when I'm in India, something will become clear
for me.

About Seth Longacre

primal health coach, vision fast guide, itinerant discalced Episcopal Deacon, barefoot runner, photographer, spiritual director, yoga teacher, minimalist, pilgrim
This entry was posted in Africa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

