Return to Kampala

This bus ride went as planned! We actually fired up the engines
and left Fort Portal at 7:00am on the dot and I got off the bus in Kampala at
10:45am. I hopped a boda boda and was back at Namirembe before 11:00am.
Miraculous! And they haven’t even finished the road the Fort Portal. When it is
tarmac the whole way, I’ll bet the trip only takes two hours.

 

Carol taught me a trick with the boda boda guys and it worked! I
asked them how much to Namirembe and they said "1,500" which is just
absurd, so I was going to walk away. They called me back and asked how much I
would pay. I said "1,000 if you get me there without fearing" (that
is, without scaring me to death). He said hop on, so I did, and sure enough,
although I didn’t think it possible, he actually drove pretty much as safely as
a moped in that crazy traffic could drive. I ended up giving him an extra 150 I
had in my pocket as a tip, I was so pleased. Worth every shilling.

 

My usual room was occupied, so they gave me another room for the
day. I’ve washed one load of clothes and another is soaking. Thankfully, I’d
left a few pieces of clean clothes behind so I had something to change into. I
just spent quite awhile going through my e-mail reading all sorts of ancient
messages that were unread and organizing things into the proper folders. I find
filing very cathartic when I feel like I have the time. Even as a very young
child, I loved to have things organized just so. Nowadays it is a luxury to be
able to do this sort of thing, but it makes me feel so much better.

 

Tomorrow I’m back to interviews–check in with the Bishop in the
morning, then arrange to meet Victor. Thursday I’m hoping to go meet with the
"Kabalagala boys"–gay male prostitutes and then Friday the Bishop
and I are meeting with Dr. Tamale.

 

More later.

About Seth Longacre

primal health coach, vision fast guide, itinerant discalced Episcopal Deacon, barefoot runner, photographer, spiritual director, yoga teacher, minimalist, pilgrim
This entry was posted in Africa. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

